PDF - Smart dynamic seating and innovative design integrated to power wheelchairs

CIRRIS, Québec, Canada

Postdoctoral Position – CIRRIS, Québec

DESCRIPTION

The general objective of the proposed postdoctoral position is to identify, develop and evaluate innovations in mobility and seating integrated to power wheelchairs. The project will include two themes: 1) smart dynamic posture, and 2) innovative design. This project will focus on a user-centered design approach involving power wheelchair primary users, as well as people close to power wheelchair users, such as families, clinicians, etc. known as secondary users.

Smart dynamic posture

The activities related to this R&D theme are part of ongoing research within a larger research project already in progress funded by the Network of Centres of Excellence AGE-WELL (agewell-nce.ca, Portal for the Systematic monitoring and Training of User-Caregiver dyads after-Provision of Assistive Devices (MOVIT+)). The MOVIT+ platform (Optimal Mobility via information Technologies) is a remote access support resource (tele-monitoring and tele-training) currently under development and implementation in various Quebec health organisaitons and is designed for mobility assistive device users, their caregivers and the various stakeholders of the network.  As part of this postdoctoral position, focus will be on: 1) identifying sensors that will measure moisture levels and shear forces between the cushion and the user’s seat, 2) evaluate the accuracy, validity and reliability of the measurements provided by these sensors; and 3) interfacing the selected sensors with the MOvIT+ platform as well as with commercially available wheelchairs equipped with dynamic positioning systems.

Innovative design

The activities related to this second research and development (R & D) thematic will consist of: 1) identifying emerging technologies and needs in terms of technology development to improve power wheelchairs, 2) identify, from the perspective of the wheelchair user, clinician and the family members, the priority needs in terms of technology development, and 3) develop and test prototypes in connection with the established priorities.

CIRRIS

The CIRRIS is the research center of the CIUSSS de la Capitale-Nationale and is affiliated with Université Laval (Quebec, Canada) (ulaval.ca). Research activities conducted at CIRRIS focus on personal (disability and impairment) and environmental (barriers and facilitators) factors that influence social participation of people with physical disabilities. The dissemination of knowledge and the expertise of its members along with its close ties to clinical, government, private and community partners enable the CIRRIS to support the development of evidence based practice.

AMYLIOR INC.

Amylior inc., a Quebec based company, is a Canadian leader in the field of high-quality power wheelchairs. Since 1997, the company develops, manufactures and markets body positioning systems (dynamic posture) and power wheelchairs that are currently used in six countries (Canada, USA, France, Japan, Australia and New Zealand). This company is heavily involved in R&D for the improvement of existing products and the development of innovations that will meet the needs of its potential customers.

CONDITIONS

The proposed postdoctoral position is 3 years. It will be supervised by Prof. François Routhier, PEng, PhD (Department of Rehabilitation, Université Laval), and Prof. Alexandre Campeau-Lecours, PEng, PhD (Department of Mechanical Engineering, Université Laval). Ideally, it will begin on or before September 1st 2019. The postdoctoral fellow will receive a grant from Mitacs Accelerate Industrial-program worth $50,000 per year. This postdoctoral position is a unique opportunity. The selected candidate will: 1) develop a unique expertise in rehabilitation engineering, 2) develop relationships with, minimally, two stake holders (the company and also wheelchair users and clinicians), 3) divide their time between business and academia (Amylior inc. and CIRRIS), and 4) develop skills related to management and entrepreneurship through Mitacs. In addition to this opportunity, the postdoctoral fellow will have access to training offered by Mitacs and AGE-WELL.

REQUIREMENTS

The sought-after candidates will have a technical profile, ideally with an engineering background (eg. mechanical, biomedical, robotics, mechatronics). Given the importance of interactions as part of the user-oriented approach, the selected candidate must demonstrate skills for working in a clinical setting. Knowledge and interest in the field of rehabilitation and an excellent command of English and French (written and oral) will be considered assets.

FOREIGN STUDENTS – WORK PERMIT

Foreign students will need to arrange for a work permit from Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC). Depending on the country of origin, CIC may require an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) or Temporary Resident Visa to enter Canada. These steps may require a few months.

CONTACT AND APPLICATION

For more information or to submit your application (single PDF document: letter, curriculum vitae, names / contact details of two referents, copy of the doctoral degree (if completed) and university transcripts), please contact Prof. François Routhier, PEng, PhD, at 418-529-9141 ext. 6256 or francois.routhier@rea.ulaval.ca. Application submissions are ongoing until March 15, 2019. The English version of this job-post can be found here.

Background: Engineering background - mechanical, biomedical, robotics, mechatronics
Knowledge and Skills: Working in a clinical setting
Interest in the field of rehabilitation
Excellent command of English and French

Apply

Posture dynamique intelligente et conception innovante associées au fauteuil roulant motorisé

CIRRIS, , Québec, Canada

Offre de stage postdoctoral – CIRRIS, Québec

DESCRIPTION

L’objectif général du stage postdoctoral proposé consiste à identifier, développer et évaluer des innovations en mobilité et positionnement associées au fauteuil roulant motorisé. Le projet comportera deux thématiques, soit : 1) la posture dynamique intelligente, et 2) la conception innovante. Nous adopterons une approche de conception axée sur l’utilisateur qui implique les usagers primaires qui utilisent quotidiennement un fauteuil roulant motorisé, de même que les usagers secondaires, soit les personnes proches (familles, cliniciens, etc.).

Posture dynamique intelligente

Les activités en lien avec cette thématique de R&D s’inscrivent dans des activités de recherche déjà en cours dans le cadre d’un projet plus large financé par le réseau de centre d’excellence AGE-WELL (agewell-nce.ca, Portal for the Systematic Monitoring and Training of User-Caregiver Dyads after Provision of Assistive Devices (MOvIT+)). La plate-forme MOviT+ (Mobilité Optimale via l’Information par les Technologies) est une ressource de soutien à distance (télé-suivi et télé-entraînement) actuellement en développement et en implantation au sein de différents établissements du Québec destinée aux utilisateurs d’aides à la mobilité, à leurs proches aidants et aux différents intervenants du réseau. Dans le cadre du présent stage postdoctoral, il sera souhaité de(d’) : 1) identifier des capteurs qui permettront de mesurer le niveau d’humidité et les forces de cisaillement entre le coussin et le siège de l’utilisateur, 2) évaluer la précision, la validité et la fidélité de mesures fournies par ces capteurs, et 3) interfacer les capteurs retenus avec la plate-forme MOvIT+ ainsi que sur un fauteuil roulant commercial équipé d’un système de positionnement dynamique.

Conception innovante

Dans le cadre de cette seconde thématique de R&D, il s’agira de(d’) : 1) identifier les technologies émergentes ainsi que les besoins soulevés en termes de développement technologique pour améliorer les fauteuils roulants motorisés, 2) identifier les besoins prioritaires de développement technologique du point de vue des utilisateurs de fauteuil roulant motorisé, des cliniciens qui les attribuent ainsi que des membres de la famille des utilisateurs, et 3) développer et tester des prototypes en lien avec les priorités établies.

CIRRIS

Le CIRRIS est le centre de recherche du CIUSSS de la Capitale-Nationale et est affilié à l’Université Laval (Québec, Canada) (ulaval.ca). Les activités de recherche menées au CIRRIS portent sur les déterminants personnels (déficiences et incapacités) et environnementaux (obstacles et facilitateurs) qui influencent la participation sociale des personnes ayant une déficience physique. La diffusion des connaissances et de l’expertise de ses membres ainsi que l’arrimage avec les milieux cliniques, gouvernementaux, privés et communautaires lui permettent de soutenir le développement de la pratique basée sur les données probantes.

AMYLIOR INC.

Amylior inc. est un chef de file canadien dans le domaine du fauteuil roulant motorisé haut de gamme. Depuis 1997, cette entreprise développe, fabrique et commercialise des systèmes de repositionnement du corps (posture dynamique) et des fauteuils roulants motorisés qui sont utilisés actuellement dans six pays (Canada, États-Unis, France, Japon, Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande). Elle est fortement engagée en R&D pour l’amélioration de ses produits existants et le développement d’innovations qui sauront répondre aux besoins de sa clientèle potentielle.

CONTEXTE DU STAGE

Ce stage postdoctoral se réalisera dans le cadre d’une bourse Accélération-Industrielle de Mitacs (mitacs.ca/fr/programmes/acceleration). Il est donc prévu que le ou la stagiaire partage son temps entre le milieu universitaire, soit le Centre interdisciplinaire de recherche en réadaptation et intégration sociale (CIRRIS, www.cirris.ulaval.ca) du Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux (CIUSSS) de la Capitale-Nationale, et Amylior inc (amysystems.com).

CONDITIONS

Le stage postdoctoral proposé est d’une durée de 3 ans. Il sera supervisé par Prof. François Routhier, ing, PhD. (département de réadaptation, Université Laval) et Prof. Alexandre Campeau-Lecours, ing, PhD (département de génie mécanique, Université Laval) Il débuterait idéalement le 1er septembre 2019 ou avant. Le ou la stagiaire recevra une bourse du programme Accélération-Industrielle de Mitacs d’une valeur de 50 000 $/an. Ce stage postdoctoral constitue une opportunité unique pour le candidat ou la candidate retenu(e). Il ou elle pourra : 1) développer une expertise unique en ingénierie de la réadaptation, 2) développer des interactions avec minimalement deux milieux preneurs (l’entreprise, mais aussi les utilisateurs et les cliniciens), 3) partager son temps entre l’entreprise privée et le milieu académique (Amylior inc. et CIRRIS), et 4) développer des habiletés en lien avec la gestion et l’entrepreneuriat par l’entremise de Mitacs. En plus de cette opportunité, le ou la stagiaire aura accès aux formations offertes par Mitacs et AGE-WELL.

EXIGENCES

Les candidats recherchés doivent présenter un profil plutôt technique, idéalement issu de l’ingénierie (ex. : mécanique, biomédical, robotique, mécatronique). Le candidat ou la candidate retenu(e) devra posséder des habiletés de travail en milieu clinique étant donné l’importance des interactions prévues dans le cadre de l’approche axée sur les utilisateurs. Une connaissance et un intérêt dans le domaine de la réadaptation, ainsi qu’une excellente maîtrise de l’anglais et du français (écrit et oral) seront considérés comme des atouts.

ÉTUDIANTS ÉTRANGERS – PERMIS DE TRAVAIL

Les étudiants étrangers devront prévoir se procurer un permis de travail auprès de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC). Selon le pays d’origine, CIC peut exiger une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE) ou un visa de résident temporaire pour entrer au Canada. Ces démarches peuvent nécessiter quelques mois.

 CONTACT ET CANDIDATURE

Pour plus d’information ou pour soumettre votre candidature (document PDF unique : lettre de motivation, curriculum vitae, noms/coordonnées de deux référents, copie du diplôme de doctorat (si complété) et relevé de notes universitaire), veuillez contacter Prof. François Routhier, ing, PhD, au 418-529-9141 poste 6256 ou à francois.routhier@rea.ulaval.ca. La soumission des candidatures se fera en continu d’ici au 15 mars 2019. Le poste original est disponible ici.

(English) Background: (English) Engineering background - mechanical, biomedical, robotics, mechatronics
(English) Knowledge and Skills: (English) Working in a clinical setting
Interest in the field of rehabilitation
Excellent command of English and French

(English) Apply